In the course of my little local eating/green living experiment, I’ve fogured out that I’ve unwittingly become a vegetarian.

Yes, there is meat around here. There are actually quite a few ranches. However, I’ve yet to make it out to any of them or to the co-op where I know local beef is sold. In addition to that, beef sort of upsets my IBS. I’d rather have chicken, but there are definitely no chickens raised for anything but eggs around here. I can’t really drink milk, seeing as I’ve discovered I’m sort of allergic to it.

No turkeys around here either. Or pigs. Plenty of fish, if I find the time to make it to the fish markets. So, I’ve got lots of local veggies and fruit and the soy milk I buy with my “allowance.” I’m a vegetarian. Not even that, a vegan. I’m slowly eating all the meat I’ve had hidden in my freezer, so this will be a serious change for me very, very soon.

Eeks.