Today Tonight we’re standing on the precipice of something amazing.

This is how it happened. I’d been liveblogging all day, watching the TV, surfing the web. I decided to go to an Election Party and on the way there, it seemed good, but not definite. I got there, and worked and chatted.

I got up for some Mac & Cheese.

That was it. I was talking to someone and then all of a sudden there it was — history. A black man as president.

As journalists, we look at history as it’s being created. We’re in the present and the future at the same time. It’s rare that we look at at what we’re doing, and what is going on. It’s rare that we realize we are the historians of the present.

When I stood in line today, waiting my 20 minutes to vote at a fire station, I felt a wash of emotion. I was waiting to vote. I was waiting to vote in an amazingly importnat election. Don’t we say that every time? But really, this nation is on the edge of (a much overused word) change. Something needs to happen.

Something has.

As a minority, I’m remembering the reason I had to take piano lessons, work two jobs in high school and forgo sports. My parents. They took an amazing journey here. To save themselves from a dangerous place. A country that was sinking. They came here for –wait for it — change. Hope. Something new. They came here for opportunity. They came here for the chance at something amazing.

And now, something amazing. If this can happen, it’s not long until there isn’t much of a glass ceiling left. Hell, let’s say no glass ceiling at all. I can and have acheived much, but I’ve felt the pressure. I’ve felt it. The feeling that “this is as far as you can go.” Maybe tomorrow will not be much different, but progress is progress.

We’re standing in history. Not jsut everyday history, but a first, something amazing. It’s ridiculous to be so emotional about something, but I am. I am alternately surprised, happy, and hopeful. I was scared. In the back of my mind, something went wrong. Still, in my mind, there are still racist crazies with guns out there. But I’ve got to believe for a second.

And all I wanted at that moment was some Mac & Cheese. I got so much more.