I am, like everyone else I know, terribly saddened by the election.

No, I’m very happy that Obama won, but Proposition 8, the gay marriage deal, passed. My gay friends aren’t legally married anymore. It’s ridiculous.

I’m angry. I’m more angry by the response than the election itself, actually, now that I think about it. OK, so some CNN poll said 70% of black people voted for Prop 8, due largely to the Black Church. That’s dissappointing, yes.

Additionally dissappointing are the commetns by Dan Savage and the like, that are blaming black people.

Let’s jsut get this out there:

The black community is homophobic.

The gay community is racist.

Prop. 8 lost.

I do think it’s insane that people who know what discrimination is like voted for what is basically, discrimination. I also think it’s insane that gays at rallies around LA are shouting racist, bigoted words and shunning black gays. What in the hell happened to fighting the fight together?

I hate divisiveness. If you are black, white, man, woman, asian, latino, gay, straight, transgender, indian or whatever, you are fighting the same fight. Why can’t we be fighting against hate in general? Yes, traditionally it may be easier to be a white, striaght man. But it’s also harder to get scholarships and such, since most of those are aimed at minorities of some sort. Everyone has seen hate. You are living in a bubble if you think your kind, whatever kind, is better than anyone else.

I’m angry that these ridiculous tactics to divide people fighting for equal rights are working. If I turned colors, I would turn red when I heard someone say gays are racist or blacks are homophobic. Stop complaining. Start educating. Whining about how hard it is for you will not get shit done. Going out the door and talking to a person about what you have seen is doing something. Stop blaming other people for your troubles. Forgive them. Be a good Christian/Muslim/Jew/Athiest. Be a good person.

Agreed?