There are plenty of lists out there about this, but I swear mine is original. I’ve been laid off twice and am an expert in this by now.

Buy me lunch, dinner, a drink…

This sounds silly, but when you’re laid off, a large amount of your time is spent wallowing on your couch, thinking about being laid off. This is also probably done in pajamas.

I am uplifted every single time I get an offer from a friend for something as simple as Red Baron and stale chocolate at their house.

It means a lot to get dressed, get out of the house and laugh a little. It’s good to forget for a couple of hours, and pretend that it’s any other day or night. I would probably be pretty depressed if not for my friends.

Listen, and tell me when I’m being stupid (nicely)

Advice is something I get plenty of and while I appreciate it, what I really need is someone to listen to me whine. My dream conversation goes like this

Me: whine whine whine no job whine whine no money whine
You: Man, that really sucks. What do you think you’re going to do?
Me: whine whine bad idea whine whine
You: That’s a good idea….in theory. But I had a friend that tried this instead…

Let me wallow a little. Then tell me what’s a better idea without making me feel worse about my pathetic self.

Give me your contacts. Send me jobs of any kind

Send me every single lead on a job you have. Even if it’s a rumor you heard on the bus.

I send out about 10 applications a day and right now, it’s the only thing that makes me feel somewhat accomplished. It gets boring sending out nameless applications, so helping me out by attending a lame networking event with me or sending me your cousins neighbor’s e-mail (no promises they have a job) helps wonders.

Help me further my skills

One of my good friends is my savior. Between him and the boy, they have saved my blog from turmoil more times than I can count.

Not only that, but they push me to learn more tech skills. Java, jquery, whatever. they send me tutorials on how to set up stuff and walk me through it when I have no idea what I’m doing.

I will never say it out loud, but it’s really helpful.

Got a good deal? Tell me.

I’m trying to reduce my costs as much as I can, so any tips about how to get my cable bill reduced or whatever helps. Ways to get cheap books, movies, etc.

Need to get something? Buy it with referral credits and help me get some money. Know someone that needs a TV? I’m selling mine.

Any other tips? Let me know in the comments.