So, I’ve been pretty quiet about where I work now.

I’m not sure why. It could be slight amounts of shame, it could be that I’m just not ready. But, for now, I’ve made a move away from journalism. It wasn’t really planned and I’m not sure it’s forever, but I’m certainly learning a lot and trying something new.

I’m working as an editor at a online marketing company. That’s as specific as I’m going to get now, though it’s not hard to figure out where I am if you do some sleuthing.

I think getting the boot two journalism jobs in a row has put a slightly sour taste in my mouth. If I do go back to journalism, it’ll be with the satisfaction that I know it is what I love.

Journalism and Meditation: Leaving the Door Open

I’ve been struggling a lot with dealing with that. I’m very career oriented, always have been, so a deviation of path is frightening to me.

This is going to sound off-topic, but stay with me here. I went to a mediation session on Monday and sat for 30 min, with lots of thoughts about my future, my life and my job in my head. There was a short dharma talk after, but the best part of the night was a conversation with my friend.

Another friend of ours is amazingly successful at what she does. But the thing that was brought up to me was that most people who are extremely successful leave the door open to possibility, while making the most of where they are.

I have not been doing that.

It’s Not Time Now

Lately, I’ve been working with journalism organizations on the side, ONA and AAJA, as well as co-founding #wjchat, a weekly web journalism Twitter chat.

I’ve stopped looking for freelance work (although I’ll take it if it comes along).

I’m a fountain of advice that I rarely follow myself, and it’s high time I stop that.

Journalism is still my first love, and always will be, but the door is open. Maybe this is a new path for me, maybe a slight divergence. Regardless, I’m 27 and there is plenty of time to figure it out.

Gen Y, as amazing as we are, is a little…..impatient. I’m impatient. I want the best of my career, this second.

It’s not going to happen. The people I admire most, my friends who have accomplished so much and who I model myself after, they are older.

It’s hard to remember that I’m young sometimes, oddly. I feel like a curmudgeon. My cynicism has gotten away from me.

Going With it

So, I’m resolving to go with it, from this minute. Social media is fantastic. I love it. I love editing, I love web production, I love data visualization, I love journalism, I love pushing boundaries.

Where does that get me? God knows.

But we’re leave the door open and maybe the path I’m on will lead to something great. If not, I’ll take a shortcut through the woods.

It’s OK.